VIAS - Vienna Institute for Archaeological Science

Our Mission

The Vienna Institute of Archaeological Science – VIAS –founded in 1992, is a forward-looking transdisciplinary institution within the University of Vienna, one of Europe’s largest and oldest Universities, and one with a research tradition that includes 15 Nobel Prize winners.

The VIAS mission is to develop and integrate methods from the natural sciences in a dynamic interrelationship with the culture-oriented investigative frameworks of archaeology as a historical science, and to provide support, knowledge and partnership in multidisciplinary research programmes and projects.

VIAS is active in the bioarchaeological,  the materials-science and archaeometric fields, with specialists whose expertise covers geophysical prospection, archaeometallurgy, scanning-electron microscopy, analyses of precious metals, archaeobotany, dendrochronology, archaeozoology,  petrography and experimental archaeology. VIAS is currently developing initiatives in geoarchaeology as well as collaborations in the areas of virtual reality and the digital humanities.

VIAS reaches out beyond the university, developing significant projects together with the Austrian Academy of Sciences and regional administrations and museums as well as many international partners. Our institute is a critical founding partner in the Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Archaeological Prospection and Virtual Archaeology (LBIArchPro). In addition to large-scale motorised magnetometer measurments, 3-D laser scanning (terrestral and aerial) and state-of-the-arte image-based 3D documentation of archaeological sites, this institute, in cooperation with the VIAS and the Derectorate of Culture of the Province of Upper Austria, develops a system for detailed underwater archaeological prospection using multibeam echosounder and state-of-the-art sedimentation sound measurments.

where, alongside magnetometry, ground-penetrating radar, resistivity, 3-D laser scanning and aerial photogrammetry, a world-leading capacity in underwater prospection is currently under development.

 

Organisation

VIAS - Vienna Institute for Archaeological Science

Unsere Mission

Das Vienna Institute for Archaeological Science – VIAS wurde 1992 gegründet und ist eine zukunftsorientierte, transdisziplinäre Forschungsinstitution innerhalb der Universität Wien, einer der größten und ältesten Universitäten Europas, deren Forschungstradition 15 Nobel-Preisträger inkludiert.

Der Auftrag von VIAS ist die Weiterentwicklung und Integration von naturwissenschaftlichen Methoden und deren dynamische Verknüpfung innerhalb des kulturorientierten Rahmens der Archäologie als Historische Wissenschaft. Das Institut bietet dabei Unterstützung, Wissen und Partnerschaften in multidisziplinären Forschungsprogrammen und Projekten.

VIAS ist aktiv in bioarchäologischen und archäometrischen Forschungsfeldern sowie der Materialkunde tätig; die Forschungsbereiche unserer Mitarbeiter umfassen Geophysikalische Prospektion, Archäometallurgie, Rasterelektronenmikroskopie, Analyse von Edelmetallen, Archäobotanik, Dendrochronologie, Archäozoologie, archäometrische Keramikanalyse und Experimentelle Archäologie. VIAS arbeitet zurzeit am Ausbau von Initiativen in der Geoarchäologie sowie an intensiver Zusammenarbeit mit den Fachbereichen Virtual Reality und Digital Humanities.

VIAS zeigt starke Präsenz auch außerhalb der Universität, und entwickelt Projekte mit der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (ÖAW), regionalen Behörden, Museen und vielen internationalen Partnern. Unser Institut ist ein wichtiger nationaler Gründungspartner im internationalen Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für Archäologische Prospektion und Virtuelle Archäologie (LBI ArchPro). Neben großflächigen motorisierten Magnetometermessungen, höchstauflösenden Bodenradaruntersuchungen, 3-D Laserscanning (terrestrisch und aus der Luft) und modernster bildbasierter 3D-Dokumentation archäologischer Stätten entwickelt dieses in Zusammenarbeit mit dem VIAS und der Direktion Kultur des Landes Oberösterreich ein System zur detaillierten archäologischen Unterwasserprospektion mittels Fächerecholot- und Sedimentsonarmessungen nach dem neuesten Stand der Technik.

 

Organisation